FAA/contract to DOD questions and quality of life

MrNoodle

Been qualified for a couple of months now and just not enjoying the shiftwork and 6 day work weeks when I was a trainee or now that I am a CPC at an up/down. After seeing that I may need to wait 5-10 years to get to my home state as an FAA controller I'm contemplating just quitting, taking an opening at a contract tower and waiting for the base near my home to have an opening and trying for that. I haven't seen much recently on the DOD side of the house and was wondering if anyone could give me some insight onto the transfer process from the FAA or direct hire to a DOD facility and any tips on getting selected.

Been qualified for a couple of months now and just not enjoying the shiftwork and 6 day work weeks when I was a trainee or now that I am a CPC at an up/down. After seeing that I may need to wait 5-10 years to get to my home state as an FAA controller I'm contemplating just quitting, taking an opening at a contract tower and waiting for the base near my home to have an opening and trying for that. I haven't seen much recently on the DOD side of the house and was wondering if anyone could give me some insight onto the transfer process from the FAA or direct hire to a DOD facility and any tips on getting selected.
I am fortunate to be at a DoD facility in paradise with a Monday-Friday schedule and 0630-1430 with weekends/holidays off. Search my post history for information on Key West DoD. It might help you a bit, though each DoD facility is different as others on here will attest, the ability to transfer and bid other facilities with far greater success than the FAA. In the long run with the FAA you will make more money, with DoD you’ll live to spend the money you earn and have a better quality of life.