Medical Exam and Security Clearance Questions

MichiganMan01

Good evening,

Long time lurker here and I have huge respect for those who perform this job. I aspire to become an ATC one day and have been thinking about it for a while.

I've been looking into it more and more, but I can't find specific answers. This is about past Marijuana usage.

I know the FAA is about personal integrity and exhibiting good judgement. I have a squeaky clean record, I work as a Registered Pharmacy Technician and have always passed state background test with no issues.

However, I did hold a Medical Marijuana Card about 4 years ago on a state level. I ended up trying it here and there and never found too much use in it. Never convicted or charged with a single thing. I've been sober ever since. I'm honestly hoping that this won't botch up this entire thing for me.

Do you think I would be okay passing a medical examination and security clearance? Does anyone have any advice?

Just be honest and disclose it from the start and it shouldn’t be a problem. They’ll probably have you write a statement saying you haven’t done it in X number of years etc. and you’ll obviously need to pass a drug test.

Good evening,

Long time lurker here and I have huge respect for those who perform this job. I aspire to become an ATC one day and have been thinking about it for a while.

I've been looking into it more and more, but I can't find specific answers. This is about past Marijuana usage.

I know the FAA is about personal integrity and exhibiting good judgement. I have a squeaky clean record, I work as a Registered Pharmacy Technician and have always passed state background test with no issues.

However, I did hold a Medical Marijuana Card about 4 years ago on a state level. I ended up trying it here and there and never found too much use in it. Never convicted or charged with a single thing. I've been sober ever since. I'm honestly hoping that this won't botch up this entire thing for me.