RVA, washing out

semperfly

I'm interested in RVA but I'm a little worried about my controlling being rusty. I left the FAA years ago. I have plenty of experience and absolute confidence in my controlling ability once I learn the the ins and outs of a facility.

My concern comes from people who have said you only get 30 days to fully check out. Thats hardly enough time to settle in and familiarize yourself with a new facility. Anyone got some insight on this?

Some facilities are so slow that 30 days is more than enough time. SUA and OCF come to mind. Other facilities like CRG and HWO are busy. One dude retired from a level 12 up/down went to HWO and washed. RVA has some of the busier contracts.

That is pretty typical. I’ve heard they’ll give slight extensions if it seems like you’ll make it but they’re not in the habit of messing around. Like the previous post says, most of them 30 days is overkill. Your best bet would be to learn as much about the operation as you can before you show up so it eases the pressure. Getting gc shouldn’t take more than a week at the majority of towers, then you focus on local the rest of your allotted time. Use all the public tools available to your advantage (airnav, flightaware, liveatc, etc).

Some facilities are so slow that 30 days is more than enough time. SUA and OCF come to mind. Other facilities like CRG and HWO are busy. One dude retired from a level 12 up/down went to HWO and washed. RVA has some of the busier contracts.

Just about any 12 facility will get rocked by a like HWO and vice versa, completely different types of controlling

If you go to IWA or CHD you get FAA training hours ?
Ain't that a bitch. I did not know that.

I got an offer for IWA, but turned it down because of that 30-day shit. Didn't think I could hack it at that busy a place in that amount of time.

Ain't that a bitch. I did not know that.