Air traffic control degree

Ilovebananas

Lurker
Hello everyone, I'm new on this forum and wanted to know if a air traffic control degree is a good investment. Would you recommend it? Thx

I'm not an expert but I think the prevailing opinion is that getting a degree from a CTI school is not worth it over getting a "regular" Bachelor's degree. If you go to CTI school you're essentially putting all your eggs into the ATC basket, and it's probably better to have a fallback option in case ATC doesn't work out. Getting in as an off-the-street (OTS) hire is a perfectly valid option.

I recommend getting a degree in something aviation related like aviation management or safety. It’ll give you a base general knowledge of aviation, but will allow you to gain skills you can use outside of air traffic control. I had academy friends with Embry-Riddle air traffic degrees fail the academy and now have $100,000+ debt with no real skills they can use outside of air traffic.

It’s fantastic as long as you actually get the job and equally as important: certify.

Have a backup plan and as someone said above, make sure your backup plan isn’t aviation right now.

I did CTI and don't regret it, but you can't do it right now. Until they change it to the way it should be (and probably never will), you simply cannot put your eggs in that basket when you absolutely do not have to. I would explore other passions and just keep applying to public bids or go military if you're dead set on ATC

Get a logistics degree, big market for jobs and high pay. ATC is by no means close to guarenteed enough to warrant the debt. Half my academy class failed, 3 of 5 at my first facility failed...

Hello everyone, I'm new on this forum and wanted to know if a air traffic control degree is a good investment. Would you recommend it? Thx
It’s basically a must have. The people at my facility with degrees in ATC are amongst the elite of the elite. JK don’t waste yo money.