Army to ATC

Presley15

Lurker
Hey everyone,

I know you've probably read this thread 100 times but I'm new to the site and know next to nothing about being an ATC other than it seems like something I really want to do. I am 14 months away from finishing an 8 year career in the Army. I have zero aviation experience, but i have an active secret clearance and have operated under some "stressful conditions" ;) in Iraq and Afghanistan. I'm in contact with a friend of mine who is currently an ATC in TX and he's answering most of my questions but additional info is always welcome. Some basic questions I have:

What are my chances of getting hired OTS on my first attempt?

What can I do to maximize my chances of hire?

Does the basic portion of the Academy, (if I'm accepted), teach at a pace slow enough for someone with no experience?

Should I study the .65 beforehand?

Any guesses on when the bid will come out?

If you're not selected, do they tell you?

Do you get to choose terminal or enroute or is it assigned to you?

Anyone vets like me here that were successful?

I could go on all day but I'm sure that's plenty for now. Thanks in advance everyone. I really want to do this. The money is okay but after spending countless hours researching post-military jobs, this is the first one that sounds challenging and interesting. Shower me in information, I am a sponge. Thanks again.

Read the FAQs...

It's possible to get hired first go-around. More so with military background because they bump your ATSA score if you're a five-point or ten-point vet. Nothing is guaranteed.

To maximize chance of hire, do a good job on the ATSA.

Basics is literally designed to take someone with zero experience and get them ready for initial training.

You might look through the .65 just to get a feel for phraseology but don't study hard or practice anything. They teach you exactly what they want you to know, which may or may not match up with the current .65.