Prior CPC direct hire

semperfly

I'm a prior FAA CPC, I have been out of the agency for 1.5 years. I'm attempting to directly apply at various facilities. So far it's been a battle trying to get ATM's on board. Most ATM's have said they just wait for hiring bids or transfers. A few of them didn't even know you were allowed to directly apply now.

Does anyone have any experience with this or know a controller who's successfully done it?

Every time I called, it felt like I was a car salesman trying to explain what I was wanting. Any advice on the best way to approach the initial phone call?

(Edit: reason for resigning was a major family emergency.)

There's a couple people on here that were in the process, but I'm not sure how far they got. Recurring theme seems to be the same as yours...ATMs don't know anything about the process and don't want to do research.

ATMs don't know anything about it and facreps less so. I would try calling aviation careers and ask to speak with a POC for the rehire process. A supervisor if possible. Tell them you're trying to apply at ABC facility but ATM has no clue what to do. Ask if they will get in contact with the ATM to give them guidance. Keep a copy of the reinstatement SOP to give away or attach to your package.

Some are just ignorant of the process, but it really depends on their motivation, which you are finding out.

I’m in the process now. You’re good on the minimum separation time which is actually a year. The key to this thing is educating the ATMs on the process. Do as much of the work for them as possible. Most are completely unaware this exists, so having a thorough understanding of the process and breaking it down for them is a must. I went in with the requirements printed out.