Transferring to another position before CPC

So I’m new to FAA and was hired as an air traffic controller. I heard you can move around to different departments if you don’t like what you do. If anyone knows the answer to this, what if while training to be an air traffic controller you realize it’s not something you want to do? What are you recommendations? Can I get a few certifications such as D-sides and get a pay raise then be able to transfer somewhere else? Or will they only let you change careers once you are fully cpc? My thing is if I realize it’s not for me I wouldn’t want to go through all of the training just to transfer out. So is this something that I can do before cpc? And by changing career I just mean moving to another position or even location if needed. What are my options?

Aside from applying for other jobs, You can in fact ERR to other positions inside the agency, however I don't know if you can do it prior to CPC. I'd recommend getting that first cert before even thinking about it. That'll open a lot more doors and look a lot better on your resume.

You can try to switch to tech ops just get in contact with the local manager and if they want you they can start the process. They have been picky about experience lately.
Careful. There was a guy on here once who would scream at people “tech ops is not a consolation career for people who can’t cut it in ATC” and then ask them highly technical radar repair questions to try to illustrate how unqualified they are whenever someone here suggested a ATC trainee look into tech ops.