Where to start

BunkerF16

Lurker
Hey all,

Brand new here and just throwing my line in the water and hoping to get some bites. I'm a jetBlue pilot, have been for the last 19 years. This request isn't for me. My 20 year old son isn't looking to go to college and while he's tossed around the idea of flying himself, I'm not sure that's in the cards for him right now either. But a buddy of mine told me to check out the ATC world. Obviously with the recent news, I know there's a shortage and also know there's a current hiring window, but I don't think there's any way he's prepared to apply right now. I'd love to set him up for success, and see if this is something he might be interested in. I asked what he thought and he sounded excited.

I'd love to get the advice from the experts in here as to how a 20 year old kid goes from 0 to ATC job offer, then ultimately succeeding in the training and real world operations. Appreciate any thoughts you all are willing to provide. Thanks in advance.

Rick

It's a long process for most. Some might say to go to a CTI school but I wouldnt waste time or money in that. An OTS (Off the Street) bid comes out once or twice a year and is posted on the USA Jobs website. It's open for 3 days. If selected, he will be asked to take (and pass the ATSA). After that, background checks, medicals, etc. Then off to OKC for initial training.

After successfully passing the Academy in OKC, he will be assigned a facilty to continue training at until CPC. Hopefully he gets his dream facility right out of the gate because the transfer policy (referred to as ERR or NCEPT) makes it nearly impossible to transfer anymore. Don't listen to any of the older controllers who say it's easy to ERR. Because it is NOT anymore. The policy changed in 2016 and it makes it extremely challenging. Most of the old timers have never had to deal with it.