Medical Alcohol Use Disorders and FAA

Lima Lima

I ♥ pointSixtyFive
This is a bit embarrassing and personal but here goes nothing. Currently AD Air Force, early 30s, dual-rated, and will have AOC experience shortly. I got arrested last year on base for drunk and disorderly conduct. Long story short, went to in-patient treatment and was diagnosed with an AUD. I graduated and have sober since the event and actually feel a million times healthier, happier, and better. I would love to serve past 20 years but I had an epiphany: the chances of me relapsing with alcohol down the road are a real possibility and I would get the boot if it happens. Being a realist/pessimist, I don’t want to get booted and be past my 36th birthday missing my chance for the FAA or DoD.

With that being said, what is the FAA’s policy regarding AUDs and alcohol-related incidences?

Any information on this subject would be greatly appreciated!

This is a bit embarrassing and personal but here goes nothing. Currently AD Air Force, early 30s, dual-rated, and will have AOC experience shortly. I got arrested last year on base for drunk and disorderly conduct. Long story short, went to in-patient treatment and was diagnosed with an AUD. I graduated and have sober since the event and actually feel a million times healthier, happier, and better. I would love to serve past 20 years but I had an epiphany: the chances of me relapsing with alcohol down the road are a real possibility and I would get the boot if it happens. Being a realist/pessimist, I don’t want to get booted and be past my 36th birthday missing my chance for the FAA or DoD.

With that being said, what is the FAA’s policy regarding AUDs and alcohol-related incidences?

Any information on this subject would be greatly appreciated!

You will have a very hard time getting a medical in the FAA with that